Help with Utility and Energy Bills is Available through the NJ Shares Program at Project Self-Sufficiency of Sussex County

Project Self-Sufficiency of Sussex County is part of a statewide network of more than 262 community-based social service agencies that take applications for the NJ Shares program, providing temporary assistance with utility bills to families in need.

Funding for the energy assistance program is provided by grants from New Jersey SHARES, Inc., a non-profit organization which assists income-eligible households throughout New Jersey with the payment of their energy, telephone and water bills.

Area residents are not eligible to receive assistance with the payment of utility bills through the NJ Shares program unless they have first been turned down by the Temporary Relief for Utility Expenses (TRUE) program offered by the New Jersey Board of Public Utilities.

Applicants for the TRUE program must currently receive gas and/or electric services from one of the following companies, or a third party supplier who is billed through one of the these corporations:

  • JCP&L
  • PSE&G
  • Rockland Electric
  • Atlantic City Electric
  • NJNG
  • Elizabeth Gas
  • South Jersey Gas

For a list of the documents needed for an application, click here.

For more information about the NJ Shares Program at Project Self-Sufficiency, call 973-940-3500 or 844-807-3500.

Project Self-Sufficiency You Tube Channel blog facebook instagram PssNJ

Site Map

Project Self-Sufficiency, 127 Mill Street, Newton, NJ 07860 - Phone: 973-940-3500 - 844-807-3500 - Fax: 973-940-3501 - Email: pss@projectselfsufficiency.org

Help with paying utility bills is available in the Sussex County NJ region at Project Self-Sufficiency through the NJ Shares Program. It is open to eligible residents throughout the area including the Sussex County municipalities of Newton, Andover Borough, Andover Township, Branchville Borough, Byram Township, Frankford Township, Franklin Borough, Fredon Township, Green Township, Hamburg Borough, Hampton Township, Hardyston Township, Hopatcong Borough, Lafayette Township, Montague Township, Ogdensburg Borough, Sandyston Township, Sparta Township, Stanhope Borough, Stillwater Township, Sussex Borough, Vernon Township, Walpack Township, and Wantage Township; and the Morris County municipalities of Jefferson Township, Lake Hopatcong, Netcong Borough, and Oak Ridge; and the Warren County municipalities of Allamuchy Township, Blairstown Township, Frelinghuysen Township, Hardwick Township and Hope Township, New Jersey (NJ).